Where Were They Then? (Success Stories Series)

(Source:  Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges, www.aatyc.org)

The list below tells us where the successful alumni are now, but it also indicates the two-year colleges where they began their careers.  It is unlikely (although possible) that when Eduardo Padron entered Dade County Junior College, he said “One day I’ll be President of Miami-Dade Community College.” Or, that Gwendolyn Brooks said “One day I’ll be the nation’s Poet Laureate.”  But, that is where they are now.

Everyone has to start someplace.   The old saying “A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step” is true for all of us.  The “Notable Two-Year College Alumni” list shares with us that first step and where they were well into their journey.

Where are you?

Notable Two-Year College Alumni:
  • Gwendolyn Brooks, Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize Winner, Wilson Junior College
  • Eileen Collins, NASA Astronaut, Corning Community College
  • Jennifer Dearman, Intelligence Officer for the Missile and Space Intelligence Center, Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas
  • Steve Francis, Professional Basketball Athlete, San Jacinto Community College
  • Fred Haise, NASA Astronaut, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
  • Tom Hanks, Oscar-winning Actor, Chabot College
  • Queen Latifah, Rapper and Actress, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Jim Lehrer, National News Anchor, Victoria College
  • James McLean, State Representative, Arkansas State University Mountain Home
  • Kweisi Mfume, President/CEO of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Community College of Baltimore
  • Captain Scott Moore, Pine Bluff Fire Department, Southeast Arkansas Community College
  • Eduardo Padron, President of Miami-Dade Community College, Dade County Junior College
  • Dr. Susan Patton, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, East Arkansas Community College
  • Nolan Ryan, Major League Baseball Athlete, Alvin Community College
  • Deborah Wieneke, Executive Director of Habitat for Humanity Benton County, NorthWest Arkansas Community College


Leave a reply